Homework

I’ve set up a little still life to work on at home.

This is a 4th or 5th state.

For the time being I’m ignoring tonal differentiations. I’m still in the work of finding where things are, adding and subtracting elements, and need to let the composition drift back and forth across the page till it finds the right place and the right proportions. There is a lot of work to do on the intensity/volume of the lines.

In later versions I’ll begin to allow color to enter mostly thorough a warm/cool white conversation and maybe first in subtle color in the line structure. I’m also thinking that it would be interesting to paint some of the blocks the same tones as the background.

There are a lot of influences floating around in my mind, I’m not sure whether I’m trying to synthesize them into something more my own or using them to pull out of myself something that I don’t yet know. In that sense I think about something Matisse said; that he didn’t know what he felt till he saw it in the work.

Here are some of the things I’ve been thinking about.

Early Italian Painting

Franz Kline

Alberto Giacometti

Patrick Henry Bruce

Giorgio DeChirico

Mondrian

Morandi

Robert Ryman

Joseph Albers

DeKooning

Al Held

Leland Bell

Georges Rouault

Mark Tobey

Dubuffet

Leger

2 Responses to “Homework”

  1. great post! i love all of your influences. your still life looks great so far.
    megan

Leave a Reply

